The OLA Superconference approaches!

Posted: January 26, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags:

It’s been ages since I’ve written anything here or on PrettyQueer. I wish I had a better excuse beyond the fact that I’ve been busy, but I really don’t. I’ve been working on re-editing the paper I’m trying to get published (how exciting!), starting a new term of school and getting ready for my upcoming trip to Toronto for the Ontario Library Association Superconference.

So, my Birthday is in a week and the day after, I go to Toronto. I’m most excited about the conference! I’ve spent so much time trying to get things in place to go. I spent a million years trying to get my passport. (Apparently, if you are trans, they have now made it really easy to get your passport compared to how it used to be, all you have to do is give them a letter from your doctor saying you are trans. The thing they don’t tell you, though, is that they actually reject your doctor’s letter so many times that you almost don’t get your passport in time.) I also got sweet business cards and did a bunch of other logistical stuff to get ready for my trip.

So what I haven’t done yet is plan out which workshops I’m going to. I looked at the schedule a month or so ago and got really excited about some of the workshops, but I only really remember one.

It has to do with running book clubs for teen guys. Considering that I am taking over running this book club at one of my libraries called “guys read” every month, starting Monday, I am really psyched about this workshop. I’m excited to learn about getting teen guys excited about/engaged in reading and to talk with other people who have run book clubs like the one I’m really excited about getting to take over!

So I need to study the schedule this weekend and try to prioritize workshops. I want to make sure I go to ones where I will meet other teen librarian folks in Ontario, but I also want to make sure I go to some of the ones more geared towards networking and meeting more general public librarians too. Basically, I hope to get into the teen librarian clique (if there is one in Southern Ontario, there is definitely one in Southeast Michigan) because teen librarians rule and I think that that’s a big part of getting jobs. I also want to meet other public library people, though, because most libraries only really have one teen librarian and I would like to make sure I meet potential employers and future coworkers.

Any Ontario librarians happen to read my blog and have any insight (or plan on attending the conference)?

I’m sure I will have tons more to post as the conference approaches, while I’m in Toronto and after I get home. I’m so excited to be so close to going to my first librarian conference!

Comments
  1. JC Brown says:

    You’re back! I was going to message you and ask for a conference update. I look forward to hearing all about it when you get back. Alles Gute zum Geburtstag (best wishes on your birthday).

Leave a Reply

