Notes from the Writing Trans Genres Conference (Everett Maroon)

Posted: May 26, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Notes from the Writing Trans Genres Conference (Everett Maroon)

I presented at the Writing Trans Genres conference this weekend and it was really great and different from anything I’ve been to before.

I imagine it will be weeks before I get the chance to do my own write-up about it (hopefully when the video of my workshop goes up that will prompt me to write something on my blog), both because I’m moving in two weeks and because I think it’s going to take me a little time to really reflect on why it was so great. In the meantime, I want to share this post by Everett Maroon, who I was lucky enough to have as a co-panelist on a YA lit panel (along with Kyle Lukoff and Annie Mok)  that gets at at least a fraction (only because I’m not sure the whole thing could be summed up in one post) of why it was so successful and exciting to be a part of.

One thing he points out toward the end, though, is the fact that they spent their budget to provide travel and accommodations for a large number of relatively unknown (but no less smart and important) writers instead of spending billions of dollars to fly out Chaz Bono. This meant that the actual people at the forefront of trans literature were actually able to attend, which meant that everyone–not just a few presenters and the people who could afford to fly themselves out–had something great to contribute, and workshop participants were engaged and asked thoughtful questions that really allowed the conference to feel like a meaningful exchange of ideas between intelligent and forward thinking adults.

Leave a Reply

